
August 20, 2024

Schools Town Hall



Today’s Topics

● Opening Remarks - Frank Migali & Gary Begley
○ Board Staff Introductions

● Legislative and Regulatory Creation Process - Frank
● Statutory Updates - Frank 
● Regulatory (Rule) Changes - Kelli 
● Accreditation - Frank
● Top Five Issues Regarding Licensing Portal - Kelli
● General Discussion - Frank
● Q&A Panel with Board Staff Leadership - Frank, Kelli, Rosa, Jessica
● Closing Announcements



Gary Begley & Frank L. Migali 

Opening Remarks
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Mission and Vision



BCB in a Nutshell

● 7,066 new applications approved
○ Average of 8.1 business days
○ New Exams, Reciprocity, Establishments, Schools, Eyelash Registration and Board Approved 

Training Programs
● 33,024 answered phone calls with an average wait time of 8:48
● 8,586 general inbox inquiries responded to with an average response time of 28 hours
● 3,940 number of routine inspections conducted with an 87% satisfactory rating
● 806 online complaints received and processed that resulted in 258 investigations

○ 67% of complaints received are not within our jurisdiction to enforce

2023-2024



Frank L. Migali, MBA

Legislative and Regulatory Creation Process







Frank L. Migali, MBA

Statutory Updates - Effective 09/14/2024



Statutory Updates

● Eyelash Technician Changes [32-519(D)]
○ Licensed cosmetologists and aestheticians no longer need to apply
○ Schools no longer need to be registered as a program unless they want to offer it separately 

as a stand alone program. 
● Student Transfer Changes [32-560(A)]

○ If student transfers, the school must provide the transfer documentation not the Board 
● Denial appeal for instructors [32-531(B)]



Statutory Updates

● Barber Instructors [32-531(3)(e), (4), (6)]
○ 350 Hour Instructor Program
○ Written and Practical Examination
○ Infection Prevention, Sanitation, and Law Review

● Separation of school from other businesses [32-556]
○ Schools may not include an establishment

● School License Requirements - Bond [32-551(A)(2)]
○ Surety Bond in the amount of $10,000



Kelli Shepard, MBA

Regulatory (Rule) Changes



Regulatory (Rule) Changes

● School Application Requirements  R4-10-302
● School Renewal Requirements  R4-10-303
● Notification of Changes  R4-10-304
● School Records  R4-10-305

○ Certificate of Graduation  R4-10-305(E)(1)
○ Certificate of Hours  R4-10-(E)(2)

● Other Items to Note

Arizona Administrative Code:  Article 3 Schools



New Application Required within 10 days if:
● Change of Ownership

○ Must indicate the date of new ownership
● Change of Physical Location

○ Need old and new location of the School
● Name of School changes
● Applications require a Certificate of Good Standing from the Arizona Corporation 

Commission if owned by a Corporation or LLC
*All Schools have to be inspected before they can open

School Application
R4-10-302



Changes to a School License Renewal Application:
● Catalogue - submit changes to the catalogue
● Any changes to Accreditation
● Subject Description of any new courses
● Name and License number if new Instructor in Charge

Application to Renew a School License
R4-10-303



Notify the Board within 10 days if:
● School catalogue or policies change
● Offer a new course or stop offering a course
● Appoint a new statutory agent (Corp/LLC)
● Enter into a new contract regarding management of the school
● Establish an off-site training facility

Notify the Board within 5 days by certified mail of school closure
● All school records must be sent to the Board within 10 days of closure 

Schools@bcb.az.gov

Notification of Changes
R4-10-304(A)



● Student hours no longer need to be sent to Board monthly.  All records will be kept on-site at 
the school and will be reviewed on Inspection 
○ Files can be electronic or paper

● If Student transfers or withdrawals, school must keep student transcript
● Must keep documentation of any Certification of Hours if student transfers into the school
● All students must be:

○ 16 years old having completed 10 credit hours of high school OR
○ 18 years old

School Records
R4-10-305



For Students Graduating:
● Name of school
● License number of school
● Name of graduating student
● Course of study
● Number of hours completed (including any transfer or crossover hours)
● Dates students started and ended schooling
● Signature and date of authorized school representative

Certificate of Graduation
R4-10-305(E)(1) 



For Students Withdrawing or Transfering
● Name of school
● License number of school
● Name of withdrawing or transferring student
● Course of study the student was taking
● Hours of study completed at the school
● Dates the student started and the date the student withdrew or transferred
● Signature and date of School owner or authorized representative 

Certification of Hours 
R4-10-305(E)(2)



● Clinic is where students practice on the general public for a fee
○ Students can not work in an establishment

● Display and Signage
○ No longer need to post your course schedule and list of instructors in the school
○ Still need to display 

■ School License and all Instructor licenses near school entrance
■ Most recent inspection sheet

● No longer any barber student licenses
● Need to teach all the statutes and rules of the Board

○ All “suites” need an establishment license R4-10-403

Other Items to Note:



Frank L. Migali, MBA

Accreditation



Accreditation

● No requirement for accreditation in statute or rule
● Emergency Requests for NAACAS

○ Minimum of 10 Business Days Notice
● Keep current on your school license(s)



Kelli Shepard, MBA

Top Five Issues Regarding Licensing Portal



Top Five Issues Regarding Licensing Portal

1. Creating a new account and linking it to current License
○ Use same name, email address, and mailing address

■ Otherwise it creates a duplicate account and you won’t see your license
■ If you don’t see License info:  Call Customer Care

2. Have to fill in “Contact Info” to be able to see the full navigation menu
3. Go to “Manage Schools”

a. Submit new school application or renew current school license
4. License will change to Expired if not renewed on time

a. The hours taught to students will not count
5. If you want multiple people to be able to renew school license:  Create Authorized 

Representative



Frank L. Migali, MBA

General Discussion



General Discussion

● Student Dependencies
● Application Attestations



Frank L. Migali, Kelli Shepard, Rosa Rodriguez, Jessica Wilson

Q&A Panel with Board Staff Leadership



Frank L. Migali, MBA

Closing Announcements



General Announcements

● General School Inquiries - schools@bcb.az.gov
○ Please Include: Full School Name, Full School License Number, and your Question (specific)

● Technical Support - (480) 784-4539
○ Contact Us - https://bcb.az.gov/contact-us

● Event Evaluation

mailto:schools@bcb.az.gov
https://bcb.az.gov/contact-us

